Posted in TH UTMB Blogs on Oct 01, 2021.

Thailand Re-opening Updates

Nov 1, 2021

Thailand Pass FAQs (As of 31 October 2021)

Updated COVID-19 Guide for Travelers to and in Thailand

Oct 30, 2021

Quarantine-Free Thailand Reopening for Vaccinated Tourists From 1 November 2021 for air arrivals from 63 approved countries.

  • Travel by air from the approved countries. Currently, Thailand has approved quarantine-free entry for arrivals from 1. Australia 2. Austria 3. Bahrain 4. Belgium 5. Bhutan 6. Brunei Darussalam 7. Bulgaria 8. Cambodia 9. Canada 10. Chile 11. China 12. Croatia 13. Cyprus 14. Czech Republic 15. Denmark 16. Estonia 17. Finland 18. France 19. Germany 20. Greece 21. Hungary 22. Iceland 23. India 24. Indonesia 25. Ireland 26. Israel 27. Italy 28. Japan 29. Kuwait 30. Laos 31. Latvia 32. Lithuania 33. Luxembourg 34. Malaysia 35. Maldives 36. Malta 37. Mongolia 38. Myanmar 39. Nepal 40. Netherlands 41. New Zealand 42. Norway 43. Oman 44. Philippines 45. Poland 46. Portugal 47. Qatar 48. Romania 49. Saudi Arabia 50. Singapore 51. Slovak Republic 52. Slovenia 53. Sri Lanka 54. South Korea 55. Spain 56. Sweden 57. Switzerland 58. United Arab Emirates 59. United Kingdom 60. United States 61. Vietnam 62. Hong Kong 63. Taiwan
  • Must have been in the approved countries for 21 days or more.
  • For returning Thais and foreign residents, it is not necessary to be in an approved country for 21 days or more, as long as they are travelling from Thailand to the approved country/s and return within the last 21 days.


Oct 22,2021

Quarantine-Free Thailand Reopening for Vaccinated Tourists From 1 November 2021
Initially for air arrivals from 46 approved countries.

1. Travel by air from the approved countries. Currently, Thailand has approved quarantine-free entry for arrivals from Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UAE, UK, USA, and Hong Kong.


Oct 11,2021

No quarantine plan for vaccinated tourists from 10 countries, i.e. UK, Singapore, Germany, China, and USA from 1st November,2021 onward.

Oct 1,2021

Pilot Reopening Destinations

Now 7-day stay for Sandbox tourists from any country in the world

Thailand’s new quarantine regulations reduce mandatory stay in pilot reopening destinations from 14 to 7 days, effective 1 October, 2021.

The reduced quarantine time applies to those visiting under the “Sandbox” programme to Phuket, Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao), Phang-Nga (Khao Lak and Ko Yao), and Krabi (Ko Phi Phi, Ko Ngai and Railay Beach).

It also means that fully vaccinated tourists can now travel straight to the designated areas of Phang-Nga and Krabi upon landing in Phuket, and stay there for seven days.

In addition, from today (1 October 2021) onwards, Thailand has lifted the listing of countries per the level of COVID-19 transmission risks for Sandbox tourists. This means Thailand is now welcoming travellers from any country in the world to the ‘Sandbox’ programme.

Sept 29, 2021

The nationwide quarantine period for those travelling into Thailand will also be reduced. For travelers who have been fully vaccinated with vaccines duly approved by the Thai authorities travelling into the country by air, the quarantine period has now been reduced to 7 days. For travelers who have not yet been fully vaccinated and travelling by air and sea, the quarantine period has been adjusted to 10 days. However, travelers who have not been fully vaccinated travelling into the country by land will still be subjected to a quarantine of 14 days.

Sept 27, 2021

A number of provinces involved in the tourism pilot scheme such as the Phuket Sandbox scheme – the so-called Blue Province scheme – are now slated to be open on the 1st of November including Hua Hin in Prachuap Khiri Khan province, Bangkok, Chiang Mai (Mueang, Mae Rim, Mae Taeng, and Doi Tao - Source: TAT Newsroom) and other provinces. For the 1st of December, Chiang Rai, Mae Hong Sorn, Nakhon Sri Thammarat and Ayutthaya and other provinces will also be open under the same tourism pilot scheme. The entire country will then be open for tourism starting in January 2022, provided that appropriate criteria is met.

(Tourism pilot scheme: government’s initiatives and measures to reopen the tourism areas for fully vaccinated international travelers without quarantine requirements.)

Source: CCSA, Ministry of Public Health and Department of Information, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Useful links

TAT Newsroom will be providing regular updates on the gradual reopening of Thailand, starting with the launch of the Phuket Sandbox from 1 July, Samui Plus from 15 July, and Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension (Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani) from 16 August.

Thailand’s CCSA approves 4-phase reopening plan from October until January, October continues to see 4 beach resort destinations welcoming vaccinated foreign tourists, while November will see 10 more destinations reopening to international tourism.

General Information – Phuket SandboxThe Royal Thai Government has officially endorsed measures for Phuket to reopen for fully vaccinated international travelers without quarantine requirements from 1 July, 2021.

Phuket Sandbox FAQs